Home Page

Salesbury Church of England Primary School Rooted In Faith Aim High Seek Within Wonder Why Salesbury School - Serving Others.



Our Governing Board

Governor Pen Portraits


Judith Gaffney - Foundation Governor, Chair of Curriculum

I have been a Foundation Governor at Salesbury School for over 20 years, and I am a former pupil of the school, as are my four grown up children.
Salesbury School and St Peter’s Church are very special to me and I continue to enjoy being involved with the school.
Over the years I have had several different roles on the Governing Body, including being Chair and Vice Chair. I am presently Chair of the Curriculum Committee and have just taken on new roles as Sports Premium Governor and Educational Visits Governor, together with being Class Governor for Sunshine Class.
I work part time as a veterinary receptionist and I enjoy meeting up with my family and walking and cycling in my spare time - the latter only in sunny weather!!!

Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Full Name

Date of


Term of Office

Date of

Stepping Down



Alison Dixon - Chair of Governors15/11/20224  Years Local Authority
Cllr Stuart Hirst - Vice Chair17/10/201916/10/2023 PCC
Paul Towler 01/10/202030/09/202415/09/2022Foundation - Blackburn Diocese
Judith Gaffney17/10/201916/10/2023 PCC
Cllr Alan Schofield


Rebecca Sharples29/03/201828/03/202228/03/2022Foundation - Blackburn Diocese
Harry Sharples02/01/201901/01/2023 Foundation - Blackburn Diocese
Emma Pearse01/09/202131/08/202501/11/2022Foundation - Blackburn Diocese
Leanne Bayes06/11/201805/11/202205/11/2022Parent
Emma Smallshaw17/05/202116/05/2025 Staff
Andrew Kellington -Co-opted01/09/201931/08/2023 Co-opted
Clare Berryman - Headteacher01/09/202231/08/2026 Ex-Officio
Liz McClean01/01/202231/12/2026 Ex-Officio
Zara Skoczen01/01/202231/12/2026 Foundation
Harriet Pike26/05/202225/05/2026 Foundation
Heather Barton21/11/202220/11/2026 Parent
Joanne Lever21/11/202220/11/2026 Parent


Attendance Register for the Governing Board

Committee Structure for the Governing Board

Register of Interests


 Governor      Name of BusinessNature of Business


at another school


to member of staff

Paul TowlerC M Oxendale - DirectorMechanical & Plumbing ServicesNilNil
Stuart Hirst

Avebell - Director

Wilpshire Podiatry Clinic

Design & Print Service


Emma PearseLocal Government Asset Management ServiceProperty Asset ManagerNilNil
Judith Gaffney   Nil
Harry Sharples   Nil
Leanne BayesBBC Radio Lancashire  Nil
Andrew Kellington   Staff Member
Clare Berryman   Staff Member
Alison Dixon   Nil
Emma Smallshaw   Staff Member
Revd Liz McClean    
Zara Skoczen